What to Expect If You’re Pulled Over for a DUI
Nobody wants to receive a DUI, yet they happen every day in the state of Texas. If you are ever pulled over for suspicion of driving while under the influence, there is a process at play. It can help a lot to know that process and temper your expectations. That knowledge can help you stay calm, and it can potentially help you avoid unnecessary problems along the way. So this outline will walk you through what you can expect if you are pulled over for a DUI.
Once pulled over, it is common practice for the law enforcement agent to administer a field sobriety test. This is typically used to justify an arrest for DUI. If the officer asks you to take a test, it is important to know your rights according to the laws of the state of Texas.
You are required to comply with police officers. That means you should exit the vehicle if asked (and only if asked). But you are not legally required to take a field sobriety test. You can politely refuse if you think that is in your best interest.
In either case, if the officer believes that you are impaired, they are going to arrest you. While this sounds scary, it is normal procedure, and this does not constitute a conviction.
If an officer decides to arrest you for a DUI, they are going to request a blood alcohol test. This can be a breath or blood test. The officers and/or department making the arrest can determine what type of test they want to administer.
Once again, your rights are clear. In the state of Texas, you can refuse to take the test. If you refuse, this can result in an automatic suspension of your driver’s license. The first offense can suspend your license for up to 180 days.
If you submit to the test, it can be used as evidence in a DUI court case. Please understand that none of this is legal advice as to whether or not you should take the test. This is merely a summary of your rights and the process you are likely to experience.
Jail and Processing
If you are arrested on charges of driving while under the influence, you will go to jail. This is not the same as prison. You will go before a judge and have bail or your sentence offered. For first offenses, DUI rarely goes to trial. Most courts offer a deal that prevents jail time. It may require driving school, alcohol counseling, and/or fines.
If you want to object to any of this, you have a 15-day window to submit paperwork to the court and contest the ruling. It often helps to have a lawyer at this stage.
If it is not the first offense, things escalate quickly. This is where you are more likely to have to go through the full legal process. You may need to post bail to be released from jail. You can also request legal counsel to help you navigate the system and improve your chances of a favorable outcome.
Many DUI arrests do not require you to post bail as the duration is short. If that is not the case, then you might want help providing bail. Otherwise, you will remain in jail for the duration of the legal process. For that help, you can turn to A Way Out Bail Bonds. We are available 24/7 to help you or your loved ones navigate the bail process and provide the funds needed to secure release. You don’t need to wait. You can call us right now to get started.